Intelligent Systems in the Workplace: Design, Applications, and User Experience 

 

Publisher: Springer

Edited by:

Constantinos K. Coursaris, Ph.D. – coursaris@hec.ca

Pierre-Majorique Léger, Ph.D. – pml@hec.ca

Joerg Beringer, Ph.D. – beringer@blueyonder.com

 

Chapter submission deadline: October 1, 2022

Theme

Rapid advancements in Artificial Intelligence (AI) are manifesting in increasingly sophisticated – often referred to as ‘intelligent’ – technologies and systems. Many of these technological innovations involve the harnessing of ‘intelligent agents’, which are being used by organizations around the world to generate value via increased efficiency, effectiveness, service quality and other performance indicators. Implementations of intelligent agents range from faceless services running in the background, to autonomous agents, and even intelligent assistants that interact and support end users during decision-making.

Despite technological developments, AI-based solutions in context of business are prone to operational limitations and lack of user adoption which hinder the business potential of human-AI interactions. To successfully embed intelligent agents into the human workplace, it is important to understand the concept of shared situational awareness between human and system agents and the meta design principles of establishing a trusted teaming model between human and agent.

Motivated by both the opportunities of utilizing AI in business settings, as well as the challenges that come with them, this book aims to provide a comprehensive view of considerations for the design of intelligent systems, their application in the workplace, and the corresponding user experience. To achieve this aim, the book introduces a conceptual framework for autonomous decision making and execution followed by conceptual and empirical scholarly perspectives as well as case studies from industry.

Outline

This book consists of five sections, the first of which being an introduction to the topic of human-centered AI in business. This first section provides a theoretical anchoring of the nuanced relationship between users and the intelligent agents they utilize. The second section presents perspectives on the design of socially-embedded intelligent agents at workplaces. A presentation of various intelligent agents applications in business follows in the third section. The fourth section presents considerations of user experience and its role in the successful design and deployment of AI in the workplace. The final section consists of multiple case studies from different industry sectors ranging from aeronautics and automotive to retail, finance, and healthcare among others. The book concludes with perspectives that enable the reader and practitioner to rethink and plan their own use case for intelligent agents.

 

Indicative Topics

Contributions on relevant facets of AI in business settings are welcome. A list of indicative, non- exhaustive list of topics for book chapter contributions include:

  • Intelligent agents for decision support
  • Socially embedded intelligent agents
  • Human-AI interaction perspectives
  • Human-AI teaming or collaboration
  • Automated business decision-making
  • Autonomous systems
  • Continuously-learning systems
  • Responsible AI
  • Privacy and security
  • Governance
  • Human-centered AI
  • User experience with intelligent agents
  • Strategic role of AI
  • Case studies of AI and intelligent agents in workplaces, such as:
  • Aeronautics
  • Automotive and mobility
  • Finance
  • Healthcare
  • Insurance
  • Retail
  • Supply Chain Management
  • Logistics

 

Submission Guidelines

Original contributions are welcomed, including conceptual papers, literature reviews, empirical studies, and case studies. Contributions should be at least 3,000 words in length (excluding references, tables, and figures). Manuscripts should be prepared according to Springer’s template files, which can be downloaded from https://www.springer.com/gp/authors-editors/book-authors-editors/manuscript-preparation/5636.

After preparing their manuscript, authors are invited to submit it in the form of an MS Word or PDF file on EasyChair: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=isitw2023 . The first page of the submitted file can serve as a cover letter, in which the author(s) state(s) their assessment of where within the above book outline their manuscript best fits.

 

Important Dates

  • Information Webinar & Workshop 1: August 8, 2022
  • Information Webinar & Workshop 2: September 12, 2022
  • Submission deadline: October 1, 2022
  • First decision: November 15, 2022
  • Revision: December 15, 2022
  • Final decision: January 31, 2023
  • Camera-ready: March 1, 2023

Systèmes intelligents sur le lieu de travail : Conception, applications et expérience utilisateur

Éditeur: Springer

Édité par:

Constantinos K. Coursaris, Ph.D. – coursaris@hec.ca

Pierre-Majorique Léger, Ph.D. – pml@hec.ca

Joerg Beringer, Ph.D. – Beringer@blueyonder.com

 

Date limite de soumission des chapitres : 1er octobre 2022

Thème

Les progrès rapides de l’intelligence artificielle (IA) se traduisent par des technologies et des systèmes de plus en plus sophistiqués, souvent qualifiés d’ « intelligents ». Nombre de ces innovations technologiques impliquent l’exploitation d’ « agents intelligents » qui sont utilisés par des organisations du monde entier pour générer de la valeur grâce à une efficacité, une efficience et une qualité de service accrues, ainsi qu’à d’autres indicateurs de performance. Les implémentations d’agents intelligents vont des services sans visage fonctionnant en arrière-plan aux agents autonomes, voire aux assistants intelligents qui interagissent avec les utilisateurs finaux et les aident à prendre des décisions.

Malgré les progrès technologiques, les solutions basées sur l’IA dans le contexte de l’entreprise sont sujettes à des limitations opérationnelles et à un manque d’adoption par les utilisateurs, ce qui entrave le potentiel commercial des interactions homme-IA. Pour intégrer avec succès les agents intelligents dans le milieu de travail humain, il est important de comprendre le concept de connaissance partagée de la situation entre les agents humains et les agents système, ainsi que les principes de méta-conception visant à établir un modèle d’équipe de confiance entre l’homme et l’agent.

Motivé par les possibilités d’utilisation de l’IA dans les entreprises, ainsi que par les défis qui en découlent, ce livre vise à fournir une vue d’ensemble des considérations relatives à la conception de systèmes intelligents, à leur application sur le lieu de travail et à l’expérience utilisateur correspondante. Pour atteindre cet objectif, le livre présente un cadre conceptuel pour la prise de décision et l’exécution autonomes, suivi de perspectives académiques conceptuelles et empiriques ainsi que d’études de cas dans l’industrie.

Plan du livre

Ce livre se compose de cinq sections, dont la première est une introduction au sujet de l’IA centrée sur l’humain dans les entreprises. La première section fournit un ancrage théorique de la relation nuancée entre les utilisateurs et les agents intelligents qu’ils utilisent. La deuxième section présente des perspectives sur la conception d’agents intelligents intégrés socialement sur les lieux de travail. La troisième section présente diverses applications des agents intelligents dans les entreprises. La quatrième section présente des considérations sur l’expérience utilisateur et son rôle dans la conception et le déploiement réussis de l’IA sur le lieu de travail. La dernière section est constituée de multiples études de cas provenant de différents secteurs industriels, allant de l’aéronautique à l’automobile en passant entre autres par le commerce de détail, la finance et la santé. L’ouvrage se termine par des perspectives qui permettent au lecteur et au praticien de repenser et de planifier leur propre cas d’utilisation des agents intelligents.

 

Sujets indicatifs

Les contributions sur les facettes pertinentes de l’IA dans les milieux d’affaires sont les bienvenues. Voici une liste indicative et non exhaustive de sujets pour les contributions aux chapitres de livres :

  • Agents intelligents pour l’aide à la décision
  • Agents intelligents socialement intégrés
  • Perspectives d’interaction homme-IA
  • Travail d’équipe ou collaboration entre l’homme et l’IA
  • Prise de décision commerciale automatisée
  • Systèmes autonomes
  • Systèmes d’apprentissage continu
  • IA responsable
  • Vie privée et sécurité
  • Gouvernance
  • IA centrée sur l’humain
  • Expérience des utilisateurs avec des agents intelligents
  • Rôle stratégique de l’IA
  • Études de cas d’IA et d’agents intelligents sur le lieu de travail, par exemple :
  • Aéronautique
  • Automobile et mobilité
  • Finance
  • Soins de santé
  • Assurance
  • Commerce de détail
  • Gestion de la chaîne d’approvisionnement
  • Logistique

Directives de soumission

Les contributions originales sont les bienvenues, qu’il s’agisse de documents conceptuels, de revues de la littérature, d’études empiriques ou d’études de cas. Les contributions doivent comporter au moins 3 000 mots (hors références, tableaux et figures). Les manuscrits doivent être préparés conformément aux fichiers modèles de Springer, qui peuvent être téléchargés à partir de https://www.springer.com/gp/authors-editors/book-authors-editors/manuscript-preparation/5636.

Après avoir préparé leur manuscrit, les auteurs sont invités à le soumettre sous la forme d’un fichier MS Word ou PDF sur EasyChair : https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=isitw2023. La première page du fichier soumis peut servir de lettre d’accompagnement dans laquelle l’auteur indique où, selon lui, son manuscrit s’inscrit le mieux dans le plan du livre susmentionné.

 

Dates importantes

  • Webinaire d’information et atelier 1 : 8 août 2022
  • Webinaire d’information et atelier 2 : 12 septembre 2022Date limite de soumission : 1er octobre 2022
  • Première décision : 15 novembre 2022
  • Révision : 15 décembre 2022
  • Décision finale : 31 janvier 2023
  • Prêt pour la caméra : 1er mars 2023